Order of St. Michael Induction Ceremony 2018

Order of St. Michael Induction Ceremony 2018

On Wednesday, May 30, over 450 members of the St. Michael's College School community gathered at the Liberty Grand to honour and officially induct the six newest members to the Order of St. Michael.

Hon. Consiglio Di Nino (Honorary '13), Jerry Howarth, David Keon '60, Regis Quinn, Armand Scaini '58, and Hon. Justice Bryan Shaughnessy '58, were awarded with the highest honour that St. Michael's College School can bestow upon a community member, and joined a group of over 40 existing OSM members dating back to 1996 when the Order was founded.

Mr. Leo Rautins '78 was the emcee for the evening, and welcomed each new inductee up to the stage, where they were honoured with a commemorative plaque that was blessed by Fr. Thompson, CSB '79. Individual tribute videos celebrating the achievements and contributions of each of the six inductees were a highlight of the Induction Ceremony.

The evening was also significant as it highlighted the school's 165th anniversary celebrations and was an incredible opportunity to celebrate the school's humble beginnings and success. Fr. Thompson honoured Fr. Jean-Mathieu Soulerin, CSB, the first Superior General of the Basilian Fathers of St. Michael's College School.

On behalf of St. Michael's College School and the Basilian Fathers, we extend our sincere gratitude to those who helped make this event possible. A special thank you goes out to our volunteers and event co-sponsors, Davies Ward Phillips & Vineberg LLP and King Sett Capital.

The Order of St. Michael is the highest honour that St. Michael's College School can bestow on a member of its community. It is awarded to individuals who embody the Basilian Fathers' motto "Teach Me Goodness, Discipline, and Knowledge," through their contribution to the spiritual, academic, or material welfare of the school and the greater community. The members of the Order serve as models for our students and for all of society.

Click here for a full list of our Order of St. Michael Members.